Volunteer Leadership

The board of trustees is ultimately accountable for the United Way of the Flint Hills’ performance, reputation, and stature in the community. Through excellence in organizational leadership and governance, United Way is a mission-driven organization, where staff and volunteers are passionate, focused, and aligned to achieve goals. The volunteer board of trustees is effective in setting direction for the organization, ensuring necessary resources are available, and providing oversight of programs, finances, legal compliance, and values.


Executive Committee
  • Chair: Julie Cooper, Hopkins Manufacturing
  • Vice Chair: Lynn Cunningham, Ek Real Estate
  • Treasurer: Jennifer Brothers, Capitol Federal
  • Aron Dody, Education Consultant
  • Scott Hayes, Norfolk Iron & Metal


  • Michele Boyce, KVOE/Emporia's Radio Stations
  • McKenzie Cinelli, Evergy
  • Allison Anderson Harder, USD 253
  • David Maldonado, ESB Financial
  • Lucas Markowitz, Newman Regional Health
  • Brandee Orender, Lyon County State Bank
  • Sarah Rice, Trust Point Insurance
  • Sara Schwerdtfeger, Emporia State University
  • Clerk: Daphne Mertens, Executive Director of United Way of the Flint Hills